Sewing Thoughts

I sew. A lot. I am trying to avoid much of it on my Etsy for a couple of reasons.

My machine is not the best for commercial sewing. I use a White Rotary that is over 70 years old. It’s a great machine for what I want to do, and my seams are solid, but these days if people don’t see serged seams they assume it’ll fall apart.

I sew weird shit. I like ethnic clothing as opposed to fads. I enjoy historic sewing as opposed to modern. It’s a niche market that is already saturated by far more talented people.

But I do enjoy sewing. And, I do enjoy sewing for others.  So a while back I decided that this year I was going to do Little Dresses for Africa.  I do strongly feel that charity begins at home, and that means here in the states, however, this is a charity I can understand. Kids need clothes. Having said that, I do intend on anyone stateside having first dibs on these dresses. I am also not religious but I do believe in mission work as long as the religion is not the be all and end all for people receiving help. That means, that if people want to come to church, fine. But don’t make it a condition of helping them.

But enough of that.

So, I plan on adding dresses for girls to my Etsy soon. With the understanding that one dress purchases a second that will be put into a bag and shipped to Africa when I have 10. My goal is to send 100 dresses eventually. But fabric ain’t cheap. Pillowcases ain’t cheap. And my time is not cheap. So I plan on the dresses being of vintage fabrics, patch work in some cases, and just in general up-cycled fabrics.

I also think with some of my other sewing I may do the same thing. For example if I list an ethnic dress based from Afghanistan for example, I might make 4 dresses for Africa.

And as I said, priority is this country. If I run into some little girl in town who is wearing heavy clothes because her parents can’t afford to get summer clothes, she gets first pick. Just how it’ll be. I live in a poor area of NY state and poverty is right at my own door.

As my other love is my darling Maude (she has her own Facebook page by the way) any furniture and clothing that is made for the shop I’m trying to make the same rule. I want to be able to give stuff away to those who might never see a dollhouse otherwise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Business, Musings, Playscale, Sewing

Leave a Reply

