Ups and Downs

I had a fairly decent week. I decided to expand my craft business into a  more practical side, offering inserts for things done on our embroidery machines, like rattles, and voice boxes, and musical buttons. And so far, so good. I’m very clearly offering something that people need, and I’m giving folks in the group a chance to support small business, which, I’m a huge fan of.

As a small business, we can’t always give you the lowest prices some of the bigger places can, but we make up for it in other ways, you can get to know us personally for one thing. You learn our names, if we have kids, their names, you learn some of our quirks and we may even become at least “net friends”.

 

I know myself, I don’t even have much desire to compete with the “big guys”. I want to be able to pick out individual items, and work with designers to come up with new and fantastic ways to use those items. The curiosity of my customer as to why for example, I might carry musical coin slots. And what is a designer going to come up with for them? (seriously, that is happening)

The fun of getting to know my customers one on one, especially right now, while they learn to grow with me while I work on building up stock and become a better business for people that started out as my friends.

 

It’s going to be interesting, that’s for sure. And I really can’t wait. I’ve had a few setbacks, but they’ve already been overcome. I’m currently working with Chinese suppliers to get more and more of the parts I know you all need, and even some, that when you see them, you’ll never knew you needed.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Business, Musings

Leave a Reply

