Vintage Lutterloh Spring 1954

I’ve been having people ask me to do up a 50’s dress, and others wanted to see some Lutterloh in action, so I figured I’d do both at once.

So I had a fast trip to Walmart tonight, and at mine, I’m very lucky. We have aisles of fabric, and I mean, aisles. And often some great bargains. Tonight I ran into this sheer black striped fabric that instantly screamed 50’s vintage to me.

 

Hello 1954

 

The black stripe is sheer, and was $1.50 a yard and there was a bit over 6 yards. Perfect! I instantly thought of a 50’s cocktail dress and in the Spring 1954 Lutterloh, found this gem.

Spring 1954

 

Now, on the model, the matching cotton skirt is lined with contrast, probably glove satin to match the gloves. I’m going to skip the liner and make the over skirt in the sheer fabric. The dress itself will be in the black cotton. I also picked up some black tulle, so there’s a chance there could be a layer of tulle under the sheer over skirt. Not sure on embroidery just yet, my bigger machine is in the shop, and I’m not sure I want to attack an entire dress with a 4×4 machine, but, we’ll see.

 

Lutterloh

 

Lutterloh is done at 1/4 scale, and using a special tape measure, and bust and hip measures, you draft your scaled pattern larger, in your size.

 

IMG_3946

 

IMG_3947

 

These don’t take much to do, and the bodice front was done upside down, so this should be interesting. You have to have at least intermediate sewing knowledge to work with Lutterloh, there are no instructions, so it helps if you’ve worked with patterns. There’s often not even numbers on the pieces saying that you need 2 pieces of something. You have to assume a lot.

This is the bodice front, it took me a minute to realize that the bodice front has a semi crossed front, next I’ll do the back and skirt pieces, I’ll more than likely do the main body of the dress first and I’m debating making the over skirt detachable.

 

But, that’s it for now, more posts as I progress, life has been a bit insane here as usual, but drafting these goes pretty fast, some hopefully I can have this together next week so I can start on some other dresses I’d like to get done.

2 Comments

Filed under Costuming, Lutterloh, Sewing

2 responses to “Vintage Lutterloh Spring 1954

  1. Stefanie

    It’s going to be beautiful! Great idea using the sheer for the skirt!

  2. Misa S.

    Hi Jacqueline.
    I have recently felt in love with vintage sewing patterns and Lutterloh. I am especialy interested into 40s and 50s era.
    Let me just say that these dress are just absolutely gorgeous. Do you have a photo of the finished dress?
    For very long time I am searching for 1952-53 pattern book. Would you be intrested into exchange of digital copy of nowadays basic pattern book for your scan of 1952-53 vintage book ? It contains 280 patterns. (era 1987, 1991-1993)
    It would be for private use only.
    Thank you for respond Míša S.
    my email adress SMishaa@seznam.cz

Leave a comment